Clockmaking and Metalworking Tools

From the 1760s to 1798, Nathaniel IV made clocks and repaired watches and other metal objects in a small, repurposed room at the front of the family home. In 1798 he finished a purpose-built (10' x 14') workshop at the southeast corner of the house, accessed through exterior front and back doors as well as a narrow interior door opening directly into the parlor. A more convenient and efficient workspace, the clock shop also protected the family from the heat, noise, and fumes of the forge.

Click on a category of tool to learn more about it and to explore the over 800 tools in the Dominy Collection at Winterthur